Remember, Ron? I told you all about him. He’s my technician I work with everyday. And every day he makes me laugh. Here’s a recap of today’s conversation as I am trying to set him up with his very first email account. (He wants an email account just so he can go on Craigslist and buy bicycles!):

Scene: I am at the Gmail site and I am typing for him. Ron is sitting next to me. I’ve clicked “Sign up as new user”

Me: Ok, Ron. I’m putting your real name here and now down below it wants to know what your email address is going to be. So, for example, I’m farrar020@gmail.com and now we have to pick a name for you, OK?

Ron: OK

Me: So what do you want it to say?

Ron: Oh. How about Ron? Ron at Gmail.

Me: I’m pretty sure that’s going to be taken.(I try it anyway and of course it is). See, Ron. It says “name not available”. Ron@gmail is no good. Try another one.

Ron: Ron1@gmail

Me: Yeah, that’s not going to work buddy.

Ron: Oh already taken, huh? OK. Let’s try Ron007!

Me: (Sighing) OK. Nope. Somebody thought of that already, Ron.

Ron: What?! Crazy.

Me: Yeah. There’s millions of people on Gmail. So you gotta get a little creative.

Ron: Ron1965@gmail

Me: No. Ron. No.

Ron: Why? No good? Ok! I got it David!

Me: Yeah?

Ron: Yes. Try Ron is a cool guy. All one word.

Me: Ahhhh…Ummm… OK. Here goes. Ronisacoolguy@gmail.com. Yep. Ron that name is totally available.

Ron: OK. I will think about it tonight. Then we can try it tomorrow.

Me: What?!? Ron let’s just do this. Tomorrow we are busy!

Ron: I know David. But this is real serious stuff. (Walks away)

AIGH! Ron will be the death of me!!!!!!!!!

