I listen to a lot of music at work. (I think I’ve started a blog like this before…)
Sometimes when I am driving for hours around Chicago I like to make up my own meanings to songs. Often they play out in my head in forms of short videos, plays or cartoons. Today I listened to the Avett Brothers song , “I and Love and You.” Besides being a lovely little song that I do enjoy, it also made me visualize it as a bad community theatre musical and the song is about the end of the world. Really cheesy but funny like in the style of Waiting for Guffman.  And who is to blame for the demise of civilized society? ZOMBIES of course!  So, I wrote out what it looks like in my head. Press the link below to hear the song while you follow along to the words!! Fun! Enjoy?

01 I and Love and You

Characters: 

Girl, early 30s, looks worn down and slightly disheveled. But she still displays a certain beauty due to the magic of stage lighting. 

Zombie, early 30s although it’s hard to tell with zombies. He’s not very decomposed yet, but he looks quite dead and his clothes are in tatters.

Setting: Post-apocalyptic world. The only safe zone is in Brooklyn. On stage there are frames of houses that have been destroyed. Piles of rubble and bricks. Fog machine and dark lighting completes an eerie and unsettling tone. 

Scene 1

Girl enters stage left as the music begins to play and then sits on a wooden chair at an old desk.  She takes out a pen and begins to write.

(Sings while seated)

Load the car and write the note
Grab your bag and grab your coat
Tell the ones that need to know
We are headed north

(Stands up and paces back and forth)

One foot in and one foot back
But it don’t pay, to live like that
So i cut the ties and i jumped the tracks
For never to return

(Skyline of NYC gently lowers down behind her. SHe turns and faces it, opening her arms and then giving a few dramatic fist pumps in the air. Lights start to come up on stage )

Ah Brooklyn Brooklyn take me in
Are you aware the shape I’m in
My hands they shake my head it spins
Ah Brooklyn Brooklyn take me in
(Girl stands just off center of the skyline near stage left)

Zombie enters stage right (sings in zombie style fashion) :

When at first I learned to speak (“brains, brains, brains” chanted gently in the background by chorus in time with the music)
I used all my words to fight
With him and her and you and me
Oh but its just a waste of time
Yeah its such a waste of time

(Zombie turns to girl, stretches his hands outward and zombie-like)
That woman shes got eyes that shine
Like a pair of stolen polished dimes
She asked to dance I said it’s fine
I’ll see you in the morning time (Zombie smiles)

(Zombie continues singing as he turns to face skyline. His arms are raised up and he looks crazy as he tries to fist pump and keep time with music, but he can’t because he’s dead.)

Ah Brooklyn Brooklyn take me in
Are you aware the shape im in
My hands they shake my head it spins
Ah Brooklyn Brooklyn take me in

Zombie and girl see each other during the short bridge of the song and there’s an intense connection that can’t be explained. It defies all rules and logic. But here there are and they love each other. They embrace and sing together.

Three words that became hard to say
I and love and you
What you were then, I am today
Look at the things I do

(Words altered slightly)

Ah Brooklyn Brooklyn take us in
Are you aware the shape we’re in
Our hands they shake our heads they spin
Ah Brooklyn Brooklyn take us in

(They hold hands and march and continue singing together)

Dumbed down and numbed by time and age
Your dreams to catch the world, the cage
The highway sets the travelers stage
All exits look the same

(Slow dance sequence and they gently kiss while still singing together)

Three words that became hard to say
I and love and you
I and love and you
I and love and you

(Lights fade to black. Curtain)

THE END

